Research Advisory Board

The Research Advisory Board will advise on NNA-CO research integration and synthesis activities, and identify strategic engagement opportunities with the broader research community, Tribal and Indigenous partners, decision-makers, and other state, national, and international partners. This board will seat five current NNA PIs, three external experts with knowledge critical to identifying engagement opportunities, and members of our Indigenous Advisory Board.

Nikoosh Carlo - Advisory Boards Lead & Co-Chair

Dr. Nikoosh Carlo (Co-PI) is Koyukon Athabascan, CEO of CNC North Consulting, and the co-chair of the NNA-CO advisory boards. In this role she will lead the boards in ensuring the work of the NNA-CO is grounded in our guiding principles and that the boards’ guidance is integrated into NNA-CO activities. As the founder and chief strategist of CNC North Consulting, Dr. Carlo, helps clients develop a vision for their climate change and Arctic priorities and build momentum to achieve change. She has worked across political divides for State Senators, Ambassadors, and Governors on issues of Arctic governance. Her true passion is working with organizations that support climate change equity, and the well-being of Arctic residents and Indigenous peoples.

Alexa Reedman - Board Co-Chair

Alexa Reedman is the Research & Partnerships Manager at ArcticNet and is passionate about designing research systems that are rigorous and culturally inclusive. She is responsible for the co-creation and implementation of the North-by-North Program, which includes the Inuit Nunangat Research Program – the first Inuit-led, directed and governed research program in the world. In this role, she works closely with Inuit Tapiriit Kanatami, Inuit Circumpolar Council, Inuvialuit Regional Corporation, Nunavut Tunngavik Inc., Makivik Corporation, Kativik Regional Government, Nunatsiavut Government, Yukon University, Aurora College, Nunavut Arctic College, and the Governments of Yukon, Northwest Territories, and Nunavut.

Jessica Black - Board Member

Dr. Jessica Black is Gwich’in Dena from the villages of Gwichyaa Zhee (Ft. Yukon) and Toghotthele (Nenana), Alaska.  Dr. Black currently serves as an Assistant Professor in the Department of Alaska Native Studies, Rural Development and Tribal Governance at the University of Alaska Fairbanks.  Dr. Black received her bachelor’s degree in Social Work (BSW) at UAF and her master’s degree and PhD in Social Work at Washington University in St. Louis.  Her dissertation and current research examine the relationship between governance and well-being among Alaska Native peoples, especially as it pertains to Tribal Stewardship and Cultural Connectivity.  She resides in Fairbanks, Alaska with her family, however, she frequently returns home to Gwichyaa Zhee to hunt, fish, gather and engage in other, important cultural practices.

Andrea Akalleq Burgess - Board Member

Andrea Akall’eq Burgess (Yup’ik/Inuit) is Global Director of Conservation in Partnership with Indigenous Peoples and Local Communities at The Nature Conservancy. Andrea also serves as president and co-founder of Native Peoples Action a 501(c)(4) and co-founder of Native Peoples Action Community Fund a 501(c)(3) non profit organization in Alaska. Andrea is a presidential appointee on the board of directors for the Institute of American Indian Art (IAIA) in Sante Fe New Mexico. Previously she owned and operated With Real People LLC, worked as Director of the Alaska Native Policy Center at First Alaskans Institute, and in the United States Senate.

Shari Fox - Board Member

Dr. Shari Fox has worked together with Inuit on a wide range of research since 1999, ranging from community-based projects to Arctic international collaborations. For most of her career she has worked remotely from Kangiqtugaapik (Clyde River), Nunavut, where her research centres on community-led projects related to environmental change, sea ice, and land-based programming. Along with other Kangiqtugaapingmiut, Shari co-founded the Ittaq Heritage and Research Centre. Now working remotely from Banff, Alberta and Nunavut, Shari has a research appointment with NSIDC, University of Colorado Boulder, and she is the Director of Northern Programs at the Geomatics and Cartographic Research Centre, Carleton University. Shari brings over 20 years of experience working closely with communities to advance Inuit and Indigenous-led research and collaborative approaches in the Arctic.

Andrey Petrov - Board Member

Dr. Andrey N. Petrov is a Professor of Geography and Director of the ARCTICenter at the University of Northern Iowa. Dr. Petrov is an economic and social geographer who specializes in Arctic economy, regional development and sustainability in the Arctic communities. His current research concerns sustainable development, spatial organization, and restructuring of peripheral economies, as well as dynamics of social-ecological systems. Dr. Petrov leads the Research Coordination Networks in Arctic Sustainability (Arctic-FROST) and Arctic Coastal Resilience (Arctic-COAST). He has published on issues pertaining to socio-economic change, community-industry relations, sustainable development and human-environment interactions in the Arctic. Dr. Petrovs has served as the 9th President of the InternationalArctic Social Sciences Association (IASSA) (2017-2021) and Chair of the Human and Social Working Group of the International Arctic Science Committee (IASC) (2019-2021).


Sandy Starkweather - Board Member

Dr. Sandy Starkweather is the Executive Director for the US Arctic Observing Network (US AON, NOAA-chaired), where she advances US agency participation in the international Arctic Observing System. With a joint background in engineering (energy conservation, renewables), earth science (Arctic climatology) and science policy, Sandy has worked in a consulting engineering capacity, university research, project management and planning. During this time, she spent twelve years traveling to/from Greenland to either participate in or support Arctic field research. She is currently serving as the Chair of Sustaining Arctic Observing Networks (SAON) and leading SAON's efforts to develop its Roadmap for Arctic Observing and Data Systems (ROADS).

Ming Xiao - Board Member

Dr. Ming Xiao is a Professor of Civil Engineering and Director of the Civil Infrastructure Testing and Evaluation Laboratory (CITEL) in the Department of Civil and Environmental Engineering at the Pennsylvania State University. His research focuses on performances of civil infrastructure and permafrost coastal erosion due to permafrost degradation in the Arctic. He has led collaborative and cross-disciplinary research projects funded by the National Science Foundation, Federal Highway Administration, Department of Interior, and state Departments of Transportation to address infrastructure systems’ challenges. He is a Fellow of the American Society of Civil Engineers (ASCE).