Past Events

NNA Broader Impacts Network Meeting (for NNA-funded projects)

July 22 (Thursday); 9am AKDT (11am MDT/1pm EDT)

The NNA-CO invited NNA Broader Impact Network members to meet for networking via breakout rooms and case study discussions guided by an Indigenous community member. Participants left with resources and strategies to include in their own research plans.

 

NNA Broader Impacts Network Kickoff Event (for PIs/Co-PIs of NNA-funded projects)

May 20 (Thursday); 8am-9:30am AKDT (10am-11:30am MDT/noon-1:30pm EDT)

The NNA-CO invited PIs/Co-PIs and outreach and engagement associates of NNA-funded projects to a virtual kickoff meeting of the NNA Broader Impacts Network (BIN). The BIN is designed to support, coordinate, and leverage community outreach and education efforts across all NNA projects.

 

Discussing Plans for Returning to & Initiating Field Research during the COVID Era

May 4 (Tuesday); 10am-12pm AKDT (2-4pm EDT) 

This virtual gathering focused on the state of NNA research field-season planning and community-based activities. Through a panel discussion and break-out groups, participants discussed approaches from across the Arctic for community collaborations, longer-term planning, and dealing with project pivots during the COVID era.

Speakers included:

  • Andrey Petrov (International Arctic Social Sciences Association) discussed building resilient Arctic science amid the COVID 19 pandemic
  • Shari Fox (National Snow and Ice Data Center) offered a perspective from Nunavut, Canada and the Ittaq Heritage and Research Centre
  • Roza Laptander (University of Hamburg) shared her journey as a remote researcher collaborating with reindeer herding communities in Siberia
  • Sveta Yamin-Pasternak (University of Alaska Fairbanks) discussed patchwork ethnography as a theoretical framework for field work under COVID

A recording of the panel is available on our YouTube channel.

Resources from the event:

 

COVID Pandemic Guidance for Field & Community-Based Research

April 29 (Thursday); 10am-12pm AKDT (2-4pm EDT) 

This virtual event featured a panel of experts who discussed and shared timely information for those planning fieldwork in 2021 regarding COVID-19 related protocols, guidance, and restrictions at local and regional levels across the Arctic. The panel discussion was followed by break-out groups organized to discuss regional contexts, resources, and evolving situations.

Speakers included: 

  • Dr. Robert Onders Director, Alaska Native Medical Center; State of Alaska COVID Rural Response Team
  • Dr. Frank Rack — Research Support & Logistics, Arctic Sciences, National Science Foundation
  • Matt Irinaga — UIC Science
  • Krystal Murphy — Health, Safety, and Environmental Manager, Arctic Research Operations, Battelle

A recording of the panel is available on our YouTube channel.

Resources from the event: