Upcoming Events

NNA Broader Impacts Network Meeting (for NNA-funded projects)

September 23 (Thursday); 9am AKDT (11am MDT/1pm EDT)

The NNA-CO invites NNA Broader Impact Network members to join us September 23 for the following:

  • Networking via breakout rooms
  • Case Study discussions guided by an Indigenous community member
  • Leave with resources/strategies to include in your own outreach plans

Let's continue to build this NNA community together!

 

NNA Annual Community Meeting 2021

November 8-10; 8am-1:30pm Alaska / 10am-3:30pm Mountain / 12pm-5:30pm Eastern

The 2021 NNA Annual Community Meeting for investigators and partners will be held on November 8-10, 2021. This meeting, held in cooperation between the NNA-CO and the National Science Foundation’s (NSF) NNA Working group, will provide an important opportunity for NNA project teams, Arctic community members, Indigenous and Traditional knowledge holders, decision makers and other experts to gather to discuss and highlight progress, opportunities, and challenges across the NNA initiative. This meeting will host plenary presentations, discussion panels, workshop style events, and collaboratively developed training opportunities.

This meeting will be held virtually, though future Annual NNA Community Meetings will use a hybrid format, with both in-person and virtual meeting options.

Registration is now open. Please register for the meeting here.

 

AGU Fall Meeting Session - Arctic Education & Outreach - Effective ways of engaging diverse learners in Arctic science (ED004)

December 2021

The changing polar environments have created important scientific and societal concerns in high and lower latitudes. In this session we will share effective approaches, frameworks and examples of how to promote a broad understanding and awareness of the changing Arctic and the related societal implications. The session will highlight effective strategies to inspire learners in both formal and informal learning contexts as well as communities. We also invite papers on effective ways of community engagement, co-design of educational and outreach activities, and fostering intergenerational or cross-cultural learning through Arctic Indigenous knowledge, science and observation.

Learn more here.